Hurts So Good: An Unconventional Love

23 Mar

Rare is the occasion I’ll use “hurt” and “love” in the same sentence with the intention of convincing you that they actually go hand-in-hand. You see up until recently, I was convinced that pain, whether emotional or physical, had absolutely no “positive” place on this mantle called life.

That is, until I tried Crossfit.

If you know anything about crossfit, then you know it’s not an easy ride. Unlike rollercoasters, your participation does not require a certain amount of height, but rather a certain amount of bravery; a complete willingness to step outside of your physical self and forge into your greatest (strongest) self via extremely intense techniques (cardiovascular, weight lifting, gymnastics etc). The cliche’ saying, “No pain, No gain” could have easily been coined from a crossfit enthusiast.

So you might be thinking, “Whoa, this girl is probably into that crazy S&M stuff.” But believe me when I say I’m no glutton for pain. Quite the opposite actually. I was your stereotypical freckled & fragile redhead. The local crybaby, or at least that’s what the kids called me back in the day. Rightfully so though, because I was in fact, a crybaby. I was very liberal in saying something was too hot, too cold, too far, too steep, too hard, too….anything-you-can-think-of. To say I was a wimp would be a most accurate description.

So you can imagine it came as a huge surprise to me when I first tried crossfit, got my ass handed to me and kept going back for more! What made it soooo different that I would willingly, with no fight at all, give up my affordable $24.99 monthly membership at a “regular” gym and spend $160.00 a month on Crossfit? Well, the list is long, but here are just a few examples:

  • COMRADERY   
    At some point in our lives, we’ve absorbed the idea that strangers don’t care about us, but that’s just not the case in Crossfit. Everyone is working towards a common goal, and while there is definitely competition against others (and yourself), your fellow crossfitters genuinely care about your success, just as much as theirs. When everyone is on board, the environment becomes a powerful platform of potential. The last time I felt that, I was in the 1st grade.
  • SELF-ESTEEM
    Let’s face it. America is vain. Most gym dwellers are there with the intention of having “like, a super hot beach body, duh.” That’s okay, except in order to squeeze out all the benefits that exercise has to offer,  there has to be more than just an aesthetic desire, because aesthetics are really just a byproduct.  Crossfit squeezes it all out, and the way your body feels supersedes the way your body looks. Your self esteem is then derived from how strong you’ve become and how great it made you feel to achieve that, rather than how quickly you trimmed off an inch from your waist.
  • STAYING IN THE PRESENT
    We all like to stay occupied. “Regular” gyms help us with this by encouraging us to indulge in the many televisions they’ve strategically placed on the walls. While I do love to occasionally indulge in an episode or two of The Real Housewives of Orange County, the gym is not the time nor the place. Crossfit keeps you in the present moment, focusing soley on what you’re physically trying to achieve, which is so much better than plateauing on an elliptical, reflecting on how bad work was. What a blatant misuse of perfectly good energy.

 

Needless to say, I love Crossfit. If I have to hobble, limp or crawl to get to class, I will….because it hurts THAT good. Oh and for the record, I’m still a crybaby.

6 Responses to “Hurts So Good: An Unconventional Love”

  1. susie@newdaynewlesson April 25, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

    I do think that the universe is trying to tell me something. This is the second time this week, that I have been exposed to crossfit concept. (I only knew what it was because I had come across it awhile ago and thought my nephew might like it.

    Too bad the closest one is about a 40 minute drive from me.

    Can you do it if you are really out of shape???

    • amoryann April 25, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

      That’s a very good question. As I’m not a certified trainer (or a certified anything for that matter), I’m not able to answer your question definitively. I can tell you that my Crossfit Coach constantly stresses the importance of being “grown” into Crossfit. I started off with very light kettlebells and barbells because I wasn’t strong enough to handle what the other ladies were lifting and also because it’s very, very important to focus on form before taking on more weight so as to not hurt yourself (which I’ve already done).

      http://www.crossfit.com is a great resource. There are forums and tons of people who are passionate about answering any questions you might have. I’m still relatively new to Crossfit.

      Also, in regards to your 40 minute commute to a Crossfit box (total bummer), there is an iPhone app which puts out a new WOD (Workout Of The Day) each day so you can do it at home. Any modifications you might face can be addressed on a Crossfit forum as well.

      Best of luck to you Susie!

  2. Kristoher Germain April 9, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    Great Read. Cannot wait to see what the future holds. Maybe we’ll get shirts that say “Former Crybaby”, cause most of us were crybabies at one time.
    Handstand today, woo hoo!

    • amoryann April 25, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

      I think that’s an excellent idea. I’ve been brainstorming a really good graphic for it. I’ll keep you posted. Woo hoo x2 on handstand!

  3. Sarah March 25, 2011 at 7:47 am #

    loved your article lady 🙂 and im so happy that you found your niche with crossfit!

    love love love

    • amoryann March 27, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

      Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

