Forever Changed

3 Jan

I was introduced to the concept of CrossFit in September 2010 by a friend, but didn’t try it until February 2011 when I came into some money from a wellness challenge I won at work. It seems like it all happened so fast. One minute I had the money, the next minute a friend was posting on Facebook about a local CrossFit box she goes to (CrossFit 310!), and then suddenly I’m doing box jumps  for the first time ever in a class full of people I don’t know, with a coach I had just met 10 minutes prior.

That was the day I knew my year, and more importantly my life, was going to change for the best. And it has.

I’ve become not only physically stronger, but mentally and emotionally stronger. I’ve become a problem-solver, a strategic planner, and somewhat fearless in areas of my life that at one time were crippling for me. I’ve gained confidence, motivation and an overall purpose and direction in my life. Where I once saw lack, I now see opportunity and chance. I’ve also inherited a second (more functional) family in which I value, respect and care for in a way I didn’t know was possible.

If someone asked me what’s influenced me the most to be the person I am today, I would say CrossFit without hesitation.

{Originally published in the CrossFit 310 newsletter}

6 Responses to “Forever Changed”

  1. Erik January 4, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    Such an awesome picture!

  2. Tricia Taylor January 3, 2012 at 4:29 pm #

    It sounds like you found a formula that takes care of your mind, body and spirit. Keep up the good work and keep thinking positive!!

    • Rebecca January 4, 2012 at 8:06 am #

      Yes and it’s working wonders in all areas of my life!

  3. buffbetty1 January 3, 2012 at 3:36 pm #

    I love these ispirational stories! Crossfit has done so much for me as well! I don’t look at it as “going to the gym”. Its a lifestyle that you live everyday and are humbled by everyday by your friends at the box. Good for you! http://www.buffbetty.wordpress.com

    • Rebecca January 4, 2012 at 8:05 am #

      Glad you enjoyed the story. And you’re right: It’s definitely a lifestyle change. Bonds forged in suffering (CrossFit) are incomparable to anything else I’ve found.

Leave a Reply

