I Hate Running

6 Feb

20120206-115553.jpg

20120206-115603.jpg

20120206-115617.jpg

20120206-115630.jpg

But it is a necessary “evil” to get better at what it is I really love, which is CrossFit. And in true fashion, our CrossFit family showed up in numbers to run together, complete with CrossFit 310 shirts to represent.Ā  Some were running for time, some for fun, some as a warmup for the 10K, some as a group, and some just to support others (like slow little me) who needed a buddy boost. All in all though, I have to say it wasn’t too bad for my very first 5K. I did it in 32:55, which was about 2:56 over what I was aiming for, but my other goal of continuously running (with no stops) was achieved, and that’s enough for me. I’d like to revisit the 5K and see how many minutes I can shave off.

Bonus Self-Esteem Boost: I got my first (recorded and coach-approved) strict pull-up after the 5K, so now I’m ready to kip! She said, “Look ma! No bands!”

6 Responses to “I Hate Running”

  1. Paul D February 7, 2012 at 4:24 pm #

    i love sprinting

    • Rebecca February 7, 2012 at 4:28 pm #

      You would Paul šŸ˜‰

  2. triciaanntaylor February 7, 2012 at 11:51 am #

    It is very telling that you said “my first 5K run”. This is a very good indication that you are going to continue challenging yourself in this regard. Another exciting bar to set for yourself. You’re always working to leap over the bounderies of what us mere mortals can ever hope to accomplish!!

    šŸ˜‰

    As always, you are the greatest!

    • Rebecca February 7, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

      Tricia,

      You are too kind with words.

  3. Allyn Woghin February 7, 2012 at 10:36 am #

    Nice work! Way to GO on the pull up!!!!!!!!!!

    • Rebecca February 7, 2012 at 10:44 am #

      Thanks Allyn! It’s been a year in the making. The satisfaction that comes with the completion of that goal is worth more words than I could write on this blog.

Leave a Reply

