CrossFit Games Open 12.2 Recap

5 Mar

Let me first start off by saying that 12.2 was an amazing WOD. It was definitely intended to separate the elite CrossFitter from the novice… So why was it so amazing then? Well, despite its purpose of sifting through athletes to bring the best to the top, it gave the novice CrossFitter a chance to truly triumph. I witnessed so many PR’s in this WOD (just in our box alone), and it was incredible to be a part of. I watched people dig deeper than I think I’ve ever seen them go, and that was inspiring.

As for me? I really didn’t believe that I could get more than thirty reps. My one rep max for snatches was 45 lbs in early February, so how exactly was I supposed to snatch 45 lbs thirty times, and then move onto 75 lbs snatches (thirty times)? Well, it happened. The first rep at 75 was notably difficult, but it seemed to get easier with each rep as I adjusted more and more to the technique. Then it became a race for the clock. I managed to get in ten reps at 75 lbs, which is probably the biggest PR I’ve experienced thus far in my CrossFit journey. I’m very satisfied with my score and cannot wait to see what 12.3 brings. I’m ready for more!

Thank you CrossFit HQ for coming up with these WODs. I know there’s been some negative feedback associated with them, but please know that there are some of us who see the value and purpose in them, and appreciate the opportunity to be a part of it.

– Rebecca The Red

5 Responses to “CrossFit Games Open 12.2 Recap”

  1. Erik March 5, 2012 at 5:42 pm #

    Amazing photo series! The lighting in the last shot really illuminates the accomplishment.

    • Rebecca March 6, 2012 at 8:03 am #

      Camille is a total rockstar.

  2. Live Lift Run March 5, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

    I felt the same way! I think my last ten reps were the best as I was beginning to get the technique down!

    • Rebecca March 5, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

      Yessss I feel you! Just as you’re getting the hang of it, there’s only 2 minutes left! Ahhhhhh! Great job though. 🙂

  3. triciaanntaylor March 5, 2012 at 12:48 pm #

    Rebecca, I’m sure you were the only one who didn’t believe you could do it.

    Keep challenging yourself. You always achieve / exceed your goals so just keep setting those goals and you’ll continue to amaze yourself.

    Tricia

Leave a Reply

