An Open Letter To My Younger Self

18 Apr

20120417-105621.jpg

 

Dear Rebecca,

Stop trying to grow up so fast. I know your childhood isn’t ideal, but no matter what, it’s your childhood. Don’t give that time away, because you can never have it back.  Go outside and play more often. Stop trying to impress adults all the time – not all of them are as perfect as you think they are. Demonstrate some courage when another kid pushes you around; they’re not nearly as powerful as you give them credit for. That courage will become the very foundation you build the rest of your life on, and trust me when I say, you won’t trade it for the world.

When you find yourself in circumstances that confuse you, and you will, it’s okay. In fact, it’s all apart of the bigger point. Remember your brain is still developing right now, and you’re not fully capable of understanding all of the answers to your questions, but don’t let that discourage you from asking them anyway. Those questions are single-handedly going to shape and mold who you’re going to become someday. So, ask more! You have plenty of time to connect the dots.

Try to realize that everyone is doing their best from their own point of consciousness. The sooner you truly believe this, the sooner you will have compassion for others. That compassion is going to make the glass appear half-full at times. Of course initially the idea will feel foreign, and at times delusional, but keep at it. The first time you indulge in that perspective will also be the first time you feel happiness in a capacity beyond your comprehension. Enjoy it, and remember it in the greatest of detail - it’s going to give you hope when life seems meaningless.

You are so strong. Would you believe me if I told you that someday you’re going to literally lift the weight equal to three of you? It seems impossible now, but it’s the absolute truth. There’s a fire burning inside of you, and it’s important to not let anyone put it out, or convince you otherwise. In the meantime however, don’t get so down on yourself for your emotional reactions. Crying does not mean you’re weak. It’s a necessary part of your growth. Just learn to listen to yourself, and more importantly, others.

Don’t be afraid of failure. Failure is a sign you’re trying, and you’ll learn more about life (and yourself) from your failures, than from your successes. And during the times you are successful, don’t dumb yourself down for anyone. Be humble about it, but be proud. There’s no shame in patting yourself on the back once in a while, because at the end of the day, the only person’s approval that matters is your own.

Sincerely & With Love,
Rebecca The Red

***

If you could write a letter to your younger self, what would it say?

12 Responses to “An Open Letter To My Younger Self”

  1. Janne April 26, 2012 at 11:11 am #

    What a great thing to do – you just inspired me to do exactly the same! Thank you – and keep up the great work. I call it mental power to do what you do!

    /Janne

    • Rebecca April 26, 2012 at 11:56 am #

      My pleasure Janne! :) It’s very cathartic to write it! Let me know how yours goes.

  2. Allyn Woghin April 18, 2012 at 1:18 pm #

    I love this. I wish I could find a way to tell my younger self a few things including: listen to your parents – they truly want the best for you even when they seem to have the worst ways of telling you that.

    This is a beautiful piece. Well done.

    • Rebecca April 18, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

      Thank you Allyn. I found writing this letter was very healing, since much of what we do as adults stems from our childhood. Anyway, thank you for sharing. You’re an incredible person and I’m always so grateful for your feedback and participation.

  3. Mitchell Scott Davis April 18, 2012 at 9:44 am #

    I think I would tell my younger self: Listen to your intuition – and even though you may be ‘just a kid,’ that you really do know what’s best for you. It’s okay if the adults around you are wrong and knowing that might not change anything except your ability to be patient.

    Very much enjoyed reading this entry!

    • Rebecca April 18, 2012 at 9:55 am #

      That’s such a great point, and one I often forget. Kids really do know what’s best for them (for the most part), and the reason we (I) forget this is, is because sometimes they are unable to articulate it, which is why I think it’s important for adults to facilitate the conversation.

      I especially love the last line: “It’s okay if the adults around you are wrong and knowing that might not change anything except your ability to be patient.” I agree 100%!

      Thank you for sharing!

  4. Live Lift Run April 18, 2012 at 8:45 am #

    Well said!

    • Rebecca April 18, 2012 at 8:53 am #

      Thank you, Kerri. I’m curious: What’s something you would tell your younger self if you could? It’s always interesting to see what our older, wiser selves would tell our younger selves.

      • Live Lift Run April 18, 2012 at 10:21 am #

        I think I would tell younger Kerri to cherish the 4 close girlfriends and not worry about being part of the “popular” group and stop being so concerned what everyone else thinks. Cause those 4 girls are still there for me today, and ya know what, they still think I’m pretty cool. Who cares what everyone else think?!?

        • Rebecca April 18, 2012 at 10:42 am #

          Exactly. :) Thanks for sharing, Kerri!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Letter to My Younger Self | Fit Chick Diaries - April 25, 2012

    [...] An Open Letter To My Younger Self (rebeccathered.wordpress.com) [...]

  2. Inspired Fit Strong – Favorite Reads of the Week: 04/21/12 - April 20, 2012

    [...] An Open Letter to My Younger Self [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

