Oh, Fran

16 May

7 Responses to “Oh, Fran”

  1. jcarha May 16, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

    Fran is actually one of my favorite WODs! I don’t know how I managed to forget, but I forgot what my best time is. I like it’s around 8 1/2 minutes. The time before that was 9:35.

    • Rebecca May 16, 2012 at 10:11 pm #

      Nice. You shaved off quite a bit of time there! I guess it’s time I gave her a go, yeah?

      • jcarha May 16, 2012 at 11:56 pm #

        If I could do Fran every day, I would. But that would be pretty much the exact opposite of what CrossFit is all about. Plus I don’t think my wife would like it when I’m dead after 3 days.
        The top 2 ways I shaved time off my Fran are:
        1) Learn to kip. If you don’t know how to do kipping pull ups, you’re going to struggle at this. 21 pull ups doesn’t seem like a lot, but if you can’t kip, it will drive your times up pretty high.
        2) Learn how to rack the bar. I worked on a lot of front squats to figure out how to rack the bar, and it made the thrusters 10 times easier.

        My time went from 9:36 down to 8 something after I learned how to do butterfly pull ups. I still admit I’m not very good at them, but I can usually string at least 10 of them together, and that saves a lot of time.

        • Rebecca May 17, 2012 at 7:50 am #

          Fortunately, I have a kipping pull up, which is why I think I stand a chance. And I’m pretty sure I can pull off 65# thrusters too. Of course my time won’t be anywhere near CLB’s, but hey, we all have to start somewhere, right?

          • jcarha May 17, 2012 at 9:51 am #

            Right! The first time I did Fran, I think I did it in 20 minutes, or maybe higher. I also used 45lb dumbells instead of a bar, and used rings for the pullups. Even still, if I had used the normal equipment, I wouldn’t have gotten anywhere near the time I can do now.

  2. Nick Momrik May 16, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

    I think I’m lucky not to have done Fran yet after 6+ months.

    • Rebecca May 16, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

      Want to know a secret? Either have I 😛

Leave a Reply

