Eating Zone – Week One (with Before Photos)

17 May

20120516-105506.jpg

And so it begins, again. As some of you know, I participated in my CrossFit gym’s Live Fit challenge back in January, and won 3rd place! Winning cash was great (which bought me some sweet new CrossFit kicks), but the physical results I achieved were far more rewarding. I’d love to say I sustained those eating habits after I won – the eating / sleeping / hydration habits that contributed to 10+ Personal Records – but the truth is, when I injured my hand during the 12.3 Open WOD, I (sort of) gave up on eating that way. The thing is, I had never dealt with an injury before, and certainly not one that would drastically limit how I spent my time at the box. No amount of reading material can prepare you for the psychological response to your first injury. And so, I ate.

But isn’t that life? CrossFit athletes will tell you, nutrition can be a rollercoaster ride. Life happens, and sometimes your best intentions get derailed. It just so happens I’m on an up right now, so I thought I would give strict nutrition another spin. This time though, I wanted to try Zone because my coach says it’s optimal for CrossFit athletes.

So this post marks week one. I will be updating weekly to track progress, note any changes, difficulties, and give a breakdown of what I’m eating. The very top photo is a collage of my before photos which were taken on Monday (May 14th). Let’s see where I end up in four weeks!

8 Responses to “Eating Zone – Week One (with Before Photos)”

  1. triciaanntaylor May 21, 2012 at 2:27 pm #

    If anyone can accomplish this goal, it’s you!!! I’ve never seen such will power!!!!

    • Rebecca May 21, 2012 at 2:43 pm #

      Thank you, Miss Tricia! The will power seems to come and go, but at least I know it’s there. 🙂 Let’s see how this goes!

  2. Erik May 17, 2012 at 12:36 pm #

    You’re going to be RebeccaTheRipped before you know it! Rock on!

    • Rebecca May 17, 2012 at 12:48 pm #

      Indeed, that IS the plan. You’re onto me!

  3. Amanda May 17, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

    Way to go! I have been following you on this on facebook! You give me confidence that you can do anything you put your mind too ❤

    • Rebecca May 17, 2012 at 12:48 pm #

      Amanda,

      Thank you for taking the time to comment. I’m so glad I can provide that for you. I think you’re right in saying that we can do anything we put our minds to! People often underestimate the power of thought. I’ll keep you posted on how it goes.

      Best,
      Rebecca The Red

  4. Sherry Chute May 17, 2012 at 11:03 am #

    I think it s great that you are doig this, but even greater that you re keeping the rest of us in the loop as well. I look forward to following your progress and hopefully followig in your footsteps as well. Thanks for sharing!

    • Rebecca May 17, 2012 at 11:08 am #

      Sherry! Hi!

      I decided to go public for accountability, and to inspire people. If you want to get onboard, let me know. I’d be happy to help in any way I can. Thanks for following along.

Leave a Reply

