Eating Zone – Week One Recap

24 May

Hey guys! Rebecca The Red checking in with you and sharing progress. My first week of eating Zone went pretty well, all things considered. I stopped weighing myself a long time ago, so I don’t know what kind of progress I’ve made in terms of pounds, but there’s a noticeable difference. Besides, I’m not really doing this for weight loss. Regardless of intent, my work slacks are loose again, which means change is happening! The meals I ate for the week were as follows (3 block):

Breakfast:
1 cup almond milk 
1 large scoop protein powder 
7-9 cashews 
1 cup strawberries
1/2 cup blueberries

1st Snack:
1 tomato (sliced), 
1/2 Tbs guacamole, 
1 (oz) string cheese

Lunch:
1 3 oz can tuna, 
3 tsp light mayo, 
1 slice of wheat bread, 
1/2  green apple

2nd Snack:
1 cup fresh strawberries, 
1/4 cup cottage cheese, 
1 macadamia nut

Dinner:
3 oz chicken breast (sautéed in tsp olive oil, garlic & crushed red peppers), 
2 1/2 cups kale  
1 peach

On Monday, I substituted a 4 oz glass of red wine for the peach (rough day). Tuesday & Wednesday I have night class, so I got two chicken tacos (fresco style) from Taco Bell. Friday I was running late and didn’t have time to make a breakfast shake, so I got a bacon/gouda sandwich from Starbucks and removed one slice of the artisan bread. Then Friday night, I went to the CrossFit 310 anniversary party, where I had one piece of chicken (about the size of my palm), a hand-size portion of greens with cheese, strawberries, nuts, and a small amount of balsamic dressing. The weekend rolled around, and as usual, I had a lot of trouble keeping up with my weekly routine, which means I didn’t get all my meals in on time. Then I went to a Roger Waters concert where I consumed many beers & a pretzel (because I was starving from lack of food). And in my boozy state, I also had some chips after the concert (because we all know about post-boozin’ munchies)….and yeah. Sunday was even worse, but we won’t go into that. I’m really trying to make it work though, which has proven somewhat difficult because I’m at the end of the semester (two weeks left).

20120523-125823.jpg

20120523-125839.jpg

20120523-125852.jpg

20120523-125905.jpg

4 Responses to “Eating Zone – Week One Recap”

  1. Dominick S. May 24, 2012 at 9:15 am #

    I noticed that you had Tuna and mayo with wheat bread. I HATE tuna BUT I can tolerate it with one regular sized avocado and some lemon or lime juice. It is as delicious as tuna can be and it eliminates the mayo, the avocado gives you a nice texture and has healthy fats. I just slice the avocado in half and then get equal portions of avocado with the tuna. Found it in a Men’s Health years ago, try it if you’d like!

    PS- you are a better person than I, I do my best during the week but our weekends look fairly similar!

    • Rebecca May 24, 2012 at 9:50 am #

      Thanks for the tip, Dominick. I’ll have to try the avacado because I’m really not a huge fan of mayo to be honest with you. Also, I’m trying to cut out gluten, wheats and starches, but that lunch was one of the examples given for a 3 block meal, so that’s what I modeled my first week grocery list after.

      Yes, weekends are hard for me. It’s a time where I’m not working, so I get wrapped up in errands, chores, fun, and social time. It’s so sporadtic, that it becomes difficult to follow a strict eating regimen.

      Once school is over though, it will be loads easier for me to keep it relatively clean 95% of the time!

      • TC May 26, 2012 at 6:27 am #

        I substitute hummus for mayo in numerous recipes. What’s cool is it’s also easy to make (especially if you have a stick blender), cheap, and very easy to flavor. I do roasted garlic or red pepper most often, and always have srirachi sauce around to kick up the heat. BTW, Garbanzo beans are on the Zone list of legumes and I often eat them with tomato sauce in place of pasta.
        You can really have fun with the hummus favors – check out this chimichurri-hummus!
        http://tastyplan.com/post/14915708355/chimichurri-hummus

        • Rebecca May 30, 2012 at 11:14 am #

          Hey, thanks for the recipe link!

Leave a Reply

