Change Begins at the End of Your Comfort Zone

20 Jun

I would be lying if I said that I venture out of my comfort zone on a regular basis. I would also be lying if I said I took a lot of risks. It’s always my intent to take risks but that’s usually where it stops – on the intent side of things, rather than the action side of things. But what I’ve learned in just a few short years is that with risk comes great reward; rewards that are intangible, and can only be redeemed by your inner self. This is precisely why, in order to move past all the lame distractions holding us back from our real unlimited potential (Facebook, Instagram, and HBO to name a few), you have to do things that you’re really afraid of. I’m not talking about cutting across the 405 to the fast lane afraid. I’m talking, completely out of your comfort zone, people start to wonder who you are at the end of it all afraid. THAT is when it gets good. THAT is when personal growth takes place. THAT is when status quo and stagnation can no longer satisfy.

In an attempt to lead by example, I faced a huge fear last weekend: I went Standup Paddleboarding in the middle of the pacific ocean (with no life vest mind you). The funny thing is, I never really knew the severity of this fear until I was actually out in the middle of the open water, and then it dawned on me: “I could drown out here in the middle of the ocean right now or a great white could jump out of the water all shark-week style and eat me for breakfast and then I would be gone, forever, like that.” It was overcast that morning, so I blame most of my morbid thoughts (fears) on that. BUT, the point is that I did it. I did something that terrified me, and made me really uncomfortable. . . . and I’m a better person for it. I feel like I can’t turn back now. The momentum has begun.

So, what is it that you’re afraid of? What’s holding you back? And what are you doing about it? Let’s openly discuss fear. Share yours. Or share your intentions or triumphs in the comments section.

4 Responses to “Change Begins at the End of Your Comfort Zone”

  1. Diana Vertiz June 20, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

    One of my biggest fears … professionally speaking … is being dismissed as a silly young woman. I never thought I would feel like that before joining StandardAero. It’s an on-going battle to be treated seriously with your much older and experienced counter parts.

    • Rebecca June 21, 2012 at 7:32 am #

      I share that same fear with you, Diana. And I think you also forgot to mention one other important factor in that equation: your counter parts are male. In our industry, it’s not easy to be taken seriously as a female, however, I believe it CAN be done, especially* by someone like you. You just keep working your tail off, growing your industry knowledge, and when they’re ready, they’ll see you as you are.

  2. Dominick S. June 20, 2012 at 11:48 am #

    Congrats on conquering your fear of the open ocean. That is a major one for land lovers…shark attacks are serious business!

    There are very few activities I fear or won’t try in the realm of normal scary things…i.e. skydiving, bungee jumping, snowboarding, surfing, etc etc…my fear resides in the capabilities of my body and the potential for injury. I started “seriously” running about a year ago after years of casual running (20-25 miles a month). I always thought that my body would break down if I ran too much and had no ambition to run more than 5 miles. I signed up for a few 10k’s, I enjoyed myself and the “training”…I had subconsciously moved my limits from not wanting to run more than 5 miles to anything more than 6.1 miles. Then I decided to run a half marathon to really challenge my boundaries…that required much more commitment, it was a long process but I was able to complete my first half marathon without stopping (my goal). I told myself then that I would never do anything more than a half marathon but at the same time I also began to feel the need to see what else I could achieve. I recently signed up to run the NYC Marathon in November and my training program begins in a week and a half…the severity of the training hit me last week when I realized that in August I will start a streak of running 7 half marathons (minimum distance of 13 miles up to 20 miles on one run) in the span of 10 weeks. My comfort zone is destroyed and the fear is building.

    I am going to start incorporating weights, pilates and swimming to go along with my running routine to try and help avoid injury. Roadblocks include a 60-70 hour a week job if you include commute time so I am continuing to wake up earlier to fit in training. On the days when I have to swim I will give up the relaxation hours in favor of the gym/pool. I am going to be training solo which is good and bad so I am trying to figure out how to incorporate friends into my long runs to help keep me going but it may end up being 3 hours of me on the open road! Sorry for the long response, but you just made me think about my plan for the next 4 months and how challenging it will be mentally and physically…I could have wrote an equally long response about my fear changing my career, I will save that for a blog post.

    • Rebecca June 20, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

      Thanks Dominick! I still love the land way more than the ocean. A friend said recently the more time you spend in the water, the less that fear will stick around. We’ll see about that!

      I hear you on fear of injuries. I’ve just gotten over two injuries in CrossFit (hand & foot), so that topic is definitely on the forefront of mind these days. I’m majorly impressed with the fact that you’re running in the NYC Marathon. That’s huge, and while training is definitely intimidating (personally, I’m not a fan of running), it’s good that you recognize your fear, but will continue to move ahead despite that. Isn’t that such a freeing feeling?

      Please don’t apologize for the long response either. Sometimes I never know who’s reading this blog, so a detailed reply is much appreciated. I love creating an open dialogue about this stuff – it’s a lot of fun!

      Let me know how your training goes, and remember to focus on mobility as well to help avoid injruy.

      Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

